World Heritage Day | Celebrations

World Heritage Day 

World Heritage Day is a collective effort to hoist awareness about the assortment of cultural legacy.

ICOMOS (International Council for Monuments and Sites) organised a symposium in Tunisia on 18 April 1982. The day celebrates the diversity of heritage throughout the world.

As of July 2016, there are a total of 1,052 World Heritage Sites located in 165 “States Parties”.

Of the 1,052 sites:

  • 814 are cultural
  • 203 are natural
  • 35 are mixed

The World Heritage Committee has divided the countries into five geographic zones. There are  Africa, Arab States, Asia and the Pacific, Europe and North America, and Latin America and the Caribbean.

Below is a snapshot of countries with most world heritage sites

World Heritage Sites

There are 35 such sites in India which form a part of Heritage sites.
Apart from the 35 sites inscribed on the World Heritage Day list, India has also maintained a list of tentative sites for recognition.